Gotta Dance! Gentlemen Prefer Blondes (1953)

In honor of the Gotta Dance Blogathon event (awesome idea!) hosted by The Classic Reel Girl – I decided to write about an in- film dance number- Two Little Girls from Little Rock – the opening number to the unforgettable Gentlemen Prefer Blondes (1953)

I’ll be the first to admit that I wasn’t initially interested in watching a Marilyn Monroe picture- I thought she was just a dumb blonde who would be irritating. But after looking into life and learning what she went through, I had a change of heart- I realized Marilyn was so much more than just “Blonde”- she was a young woman who just wanted happiness within the crazy world she lived in. Watching this film made me a fan of hers- I mean she’s Marilyn– how can you not like her?

So what is it about Gentlemen Prefer Blondes that makes it wonderful? Maybe its because the film starts off with an amazing musical number! Two Little Girls from Little Rock is a very catchy and addicting song- as all of the songs from the movie are. It very easily can get stuck in your head and the dance that accompanies the number is visually stunning!

We have Marilyn and the awesome Jane Russell both in striking red show girl outfits  accessorized with large and very feathered head pieces.  The dance is not super complicated- its simple but still intriguing nevertheless. Choreographed by Jack Cole he flawlessly made this number perfect, as neither Jane nor Marilyn were “dancers” in their own right (when compared to others like Ginger Rogers, or Cyd Charisse). Cole is also responsible for working with Marilyn on her most famous dance number, Diamonds are a Girl’s Best Friend (also from Gentlemen Prefer Blondes).

Whenever I watch the dance sequence it makes me want to get up and do a “show girl” style dance myself- I’ll never be as fabulous as Jane and Marilyn- but one can try can’t they!  Personally I L-O-V-E to dance- but only have a few years of dancing experience- ballet in second grade and two years of high school gym electives that were tailor made for dancing. I would however like to continue on- learn swing dancing and all of the popular dances from the 20s- (Charleston, Foxtrot anyone?) as well as tap dancing- really wanna sharpen those skills!

On an interesting note, in June 2011, at the Profiles in History action Marilyn’s ensemble sold for a whooping $1,476,000!

If you haven’t seen the dance number take a peek!

7 thoughts on “Gotta Dance! Gentlemen Prefer Blondes (1953)

  1. Love this film! I was like you in that I was never interested in Marilyn Monroe movies…until I saw this one. I actually watched it because I was watching Jane Russel films, but the two of them are fantastic together. Wonderful choice! I know what you mean about wanting to get up and dance.

    Like

  2. I adore this film on multiple levels. It is very campy, and the friendship between Lorelei and Dorothy is particularly strong, especially for a 1950s flick. And when they finally make it down the aisle at the end, it’s L and D who are next to one another in the center of the frame! Neither woman can dance or even move particularly well, but they’re awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is my favorite Marilyn Monroe performance, she was such an underrated actress and especially excelled at comedy. And she had such wonderful chemistry with Jane Russell! I really love this number and I’m glad you highlighted it for the blogathon. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This movie made my boat for the 5 movies on an island blogathon. The lyrics, the set and costume colors, the girl power all make it fabulous. And you are so right–even though they are not dancing as Rogers or Charisse dance, you just can’t help but want to get up and dance with them! Great film and song to choose for the blogathon. Oh–and I’ll go Charleston and Foxtrot with ya. 😉
    Thank you for participating!
    Bonnie

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yay! I love this film! It’s just so much fun! It’s one of the films that made me discover classic cinema, so it certainly has an important place in my heart. And I love this opening song and know it by heart! 🙂 We should make a duet ahaha!

    Thanks for the amazing writing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I wasn’t looking for Marilyn when I watched this film either. I liked her a lot, but Jane Russell stole all the scenes in my opinion. Although I think they shine equaly in this number, in the gym number it’s all about Russell – and the result is superb.
    Kisses!
    Le

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

