20 film fun facts

Hello readers! Today since 8/27, it’s my Birthday, I thought it would be fun for you guys to learn a little bit about me!

But, instead of just naming 20 films I love, which is in my view is unfair to the would be 21st title on the list, I’m going to name 20 film fun facts about me- hopefully you will find them interesting! Here we go!

Niagara poster.jpg

1- I specifically got a blu ray player to watch the 1953 classic Niagara (as its now very very expensive on DVD).

2-Henry Fonda was the first “leading man” I ever saw on screen in Yours Mine and Ours (1968). I was 9 years old when I first watched the movie in 2005.

3- The first Hitchcock I saw was Rear Window (1954), all because of Grace Kelly

4- The first Cary Grant movie I saw was Charade (1963)

5- In my life I have taken four (counting TCM’s slapstick class) formal film classes

6- The first William Holden movie I watched was Sabrina (1954), but I didn’t fall in love with / admire him until I saw Born Yesterday (1950)

7- A good friend of mine (you know who you are!)  got me into watching and admiring Billy Wilder films. 🙂 Image result

8- I’m not a big Joan Crawford fan, however I do like Daisy Kenyon (1947)

9- I’m not a big Barbara Stanwyck fan, but I can’t help but like her because she saved Bill Holden’s career.

10- Gentlemen Prefer Blondes  (1953) got me to like Marilyn Monroe.

11- On average, there are only about three films a year I’m actually interested in seeing at the cinema- I do watch a lot of movies but they are usually on TCM!

12- My favorite Fred and Ginger movie is Swing Time (1936)

Roadhouse1948.jpg

13- An under rated film noir, in my opinion, is Road House (1948)

14- When I was 6, I had an opportunity to do a stage production of The Wizard of Oz (1939), but I said no- I now regret that!

15- One of my favorite chick flicks is Easy A (2010)

16- I sadly didn’t see Titanic (1997) fully through until April 2012- my Mom and I saw the re-release for the 100th anniversary of the sinking/ 15th anniversary of the movie.

17- The only film, so far, that I have seen opening weekend is 17 Again (2009)

18- I like many genres, execpt Horror and sci-fi

19- As a kid, I saw Monsters Inc (2001)  5 times at the cinema; And Finding Nemo (2003) 3 times.

20- My Grandfather was a big John Wayne fan, and I am too because of him. Whenever I watch a John Wayne movie- I always think of my Grandfather. I’ve been told The Cowboys (1972) and Hondo (1953) were two of his favorites, but I never specifically asked him for myself.

And that’s that! Thanks to all my readers-regular and casual- for following! I am so grateful for all of your support! 😉 –Emily (The Flapper Dame) 

9 thoughts on “20 film fun facts

  1. very cool info Emily!

    Yours Mine and OUrs ios one of my all time favorite films and I also am a fan of Holden. Havent seen Sabrina in a looong time and never saw Born Yesterday, but my favorites of his are Kwai, Stalag 17 and Executive Suite. Ironically, I’m watching The Wild Bunch as I write this.

    Happy Birthday and Many many more!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Phyl

    I don’t like horror and sci-if either (fist bump)!! What Stanwyck films have you seen? She’s not my favorite actress but I love some of her movies. Favorite Crawford movie is Forsaking All Others.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

