Sidney Poitier: 90th Birthday Blogathon

4 thoughts on “Sidney Poitier: 90th Birthday Blogathon

  1. Pingback: The 90 Years of Sidney Poitier Blogathon is here! | The Wonderful World of Cinema

  2. I’m glad you saw this film and it prompted you to see other Sidney Poitier films. You have some wonderful viewing ahead!

    Like you said, this film does have a simple plot, but the characters make it fascinating. Yes, Spencer Tracy has that Big Speech at the end, but he gives a completely convincing performance. And Poitier does, too. Even though I’ve seen this film a number of times, every time I see it I think, “That girl isn’t going to find anyone better than Poitier.”

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. 🙂

    Like

  3. Yeah, that Spencer Tracy’s speech was one poignant moment in cinema history. I’m glad you like the film and by reading your great and thoughtful review, we can clearly see that you perfectly understood the meaning of it! I love how you say that Kate Hepburn becomes the first allies! 🙂 Now, you must watch A Patch of Blue, because it’s my favourite Poitier’s film and I’m sure you’ll love it.
    Thanks so much for your participation! And thanks for saying that I have great tastes in actors hahah. 🙂

    Like

  4. My first Poitier movei was To Sir, With Love, a very good one. We actually watched it at school!
    I own Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner on DVD, but knowing it was Tracy’s last film, I still haven’t got the courage to watch it.
    Thanks for the kind comment!
    Kisses!
    Le

    Like

Leave a Reply

