The Postman Always Rings Twice (1946)

So it may be the last day of Phyllis Loves Classic MoviesJohn Garfield blogathon, but I’ve still got a write up to do and articles to read! When Phyllis announced this Blogathon, I didn’t really know much about John Garfield, other than the fact he was in well, a movie star!!!

And it’s really bad but other than The Postman Always Rings Twice, the only other movie I’ve seen with him is Destination Tokyo with Cary Grant. I’m hoping to change this however, after reading all of your articles!!!

I chose to write about The Postman because it’s just a great movie- and the first time I saw it, I really didn’t think much of it- but then I re-watched it and thought, WOW- OK this is a really great movie! And now every time I see it, it just gets better and better. For me, like the title says, I had to give it two chances until I really took to it.

For those who haven’t seen The Postman Always Rings Twice, you probably already know the plot if you have seen any other film noir- It’s about two star crossed lovers, Cora (Lana Turner) and Frank (John Garfield) who can’t be together due to the fact that  Cora is married to a dull and boring older man, Nick. And yes, you’ve guessed it- upon seeing each other Cora and Frank fall madly in love and soon scheme together to murder Nick. I don’t even have to go on for you to guess the ending.

Although the plot of Postman may seem a bit cookie cutter, the film stands out due to the actors as both Lana and our rebel-with-a-cause John Garfield play their roles to absolute perfection. They light up the screen together and I think many of us wish they could have done another film together.

As much as Ms. Turner really is the star- John Garfield is just fabulous. I paid more attention to him this time around and I can definitely say I have a new appreciation for him.

Another thing I noticed this time around is the recurring element of “the second time’s a charm”. SPOILER: Two attempts to kill Nick, Two attempts at a romance, Two times Frank is under suspicion for murder, and in the end, two major deaths.

I also noticed that for Garfield, this was a real chance for him to shine as a “leading man” in a romantic way. For once he isn’t the action man, or the tough guy, in Postman he’s just a guy- no special trait or anything- a drifter, yet he’s still intriguing because he’s John Garfield.

So if anything else is to be gained in re-watching Postman its two things- never doubt the outcome of a second chance, and two- John Garfield is a cool guy.

We don’t judge you, Cora

If you can, pick up the blu-ray copy- as it has a full length documentary on John Garfield’s life and career narrated by his daughter Julie- it’s fascinating!!

PICTURE CREDIT- dvdbeaver

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Postman Always Rings Twice (1946)

  1. The blu-ray documentary sounds fascinating. I’m going to see if our library has a copy.

    I have to say I’m not a big fan of this film, but I think John Garfield is FA-BU-LOUS here. The character of Frank wouldn’t be half as interesting in another actor’s hands, but Garfield turns him into someone mesmerizing.

    Like

  2. I need to watch this again as I’ve only seen it once! That’s so interesting about the “two” theme! I will definitely have to keep that in mind next time I watch it 🙂

    Thanks for participating in the blogathon!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

