Grace Kelly- Why I just Adore her!

capture-d_ecc81cran-2017-10-17-acc80-16-00-40

Its that time of year again everyone!! Its time to celebrate the Wonderful Grace Kelly- with a Wonderful Blogaton hosted by my fellow Grace enthusiast at The Wonderful World of Cinema- First off Ginnie, as always, thanks for hosting to honor our amazing Gracie!!

This year- I’ve decided to do a personal post about why I just love Grace Kelly- as an actress, princess and as a person. To the wider world of classic Hollywood- Grace is a small snippet. She only made 11 movies and was in films only from 1951-1956. She doesn’t have longevity in the business nor did she have a wide ‘acting career’- However Grace had Talent. Style. Class- all things that most actors either had to A- fake or B- had to work a long time to achieve- Grace had all of that and more straight from the get go. The fact she was a top star, worked with some of the most dazzling leading men, was directed by the master of suspense, and won an Oscar- all within a mere 5 years is amazing and unbelievable- I mean who else worked with all of these handsome men- Cary Grant, Jimmy Stewart, Gary Cooper, Clark Gable, and William Holden? Someone like Bette Davis was in tinsel town for decades and never even worked with all of them!!

Related image

As an actress Grace was great in all her roles even if the picture was forgettable (a laGreen Fire) she wasn’t- she gave her best with what she had- and she had a natural ability to make the audience interested in her character and what she was doing.Image result for grace kelly

I often wonder what would have happened if Grace continued her career- what would have Marnie been like with her in the lead? Or The Man Who Knew Too Much (1956) – would Kim Novak still been cast in Vertigo? Would we have seen Grace in more comedic roles? I’m not sure what would have happened in any of these situations- but one thing’s for sure is that Grace did leave Hollywood at the peak of her popularity- and had she stayed -I believe she would have kept favor with the audience-  maybe yes she would have had a flop or two- but I think she would have remained popular and positive in people’s minds. I even think she could have been a great broadway star given that theater was her first love- perhaps a Tony could have been in her future.Image result for grace kelly i want to be remembered as a kind

On the other hand- I do believe Grace was the most marvelous princess. She cared so much about her new adopted country yet she never lost touch with her American roots- she pushed Monaco into the 20th century and put it on the map for the world to see. She was really the first Cinderella story before Diana and before Kate.  I only do wish she would have found a real way to return to her love of acting while still maintaining her image of Princess Grace.

Maybe the best part of what remained in her life in Monaco was her ever constant style- to me Grace seemed like one to never follow fads- she knew what she liked, and she knew what types of clothes worked for her and she stuck with it- and for that – she never looks dated. On a personal level- I believe that is the ultimate secret to being a fashion icon- and that is what I go by when I put together outfits or go clothes shopping.Image result for grace kelly

Today Grace has been gone for 35 years- yet I think she’s more well known now more than ever. To me Grace Kelly’s style and mannerisms are what the world  lacks today. In my own life I don’t try to ‘Be’ Grace Kelly- that’s impossible- but what I do try to do is follow her example- and remember what it means to be classy like her.

In her final interview Grace expressed her wish to be remembered as “a kind and loving person” and I think that’s just how she remains in the hearts and minds of people today. I certainly see her that way and I think you all do too!

Happy Birthday Dear Grace! You may be gone, but you are never forgotten! 

4 thoughts on “Grace Kelly- Why I just Adore her!

  1. What a beautiful post Emily! Your admiration and love for Grace Kelly is honnest and admirable. Well she was the best! I think she could have continued a brilliant career in film if things would have been different. It would have been nice to see her in more comedies! She proved her humorous timing perfectly in High Society. 🙂 Nobody can “be” Grace Kelly, but she can inspires many. 🙂
    Thanks so much for your contribution to the blogathon!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Third Wonderful Grace Kelly Blogathon is here! – The Wonderful World of Cinema

Leave a Reply

