Top 10 New to Me: 2023

Hello all! As the year winds down, and we take in reflections, the movies we watch is very much a part of them. I don’t necessarily go to the movie theater a whole lot, but I do watch films at home. This year I’d like to reflect on the top ten new to me movies I’ve watched. They are not all newly made, but they are all movies I’ve never seen before. So without further ado, I present in no particular order, the top 10 new to me movies I watched in 2023:

1: The Electric Horseman 1979: This movie surprised me! I don’t really enjoy modern set westerns, and am not a horse enthusiast either, but I do love Robert Redford and his bond with horses. He was smashing in the role of Sunny Steele and Jane Fonda was brilliant as news journalist Hallie. Add in the gorgeous scenery and this movie is certianly one for the ages. Don’t wait five years to watch it like I did!!!

2: The Tender Trap 1955: This movie is so sweet! On paper, Frank Sinatra as a playboy songwriter seems like such a dated concept, but the fact he’s put in his place by Debbie Reynolds, who refuses to go out with him until he changes, makes it fresh and undated. Reynolds and Sinatra work so well together and the Celeste Holmes and David Wayne side plot was adorable, all round a great 1950’s rom-com!!! (And Carolyn Jones has fun supporting character role too)!

(Credit: Disney+)

3: Up Close and Personal 1996: This movie came out the year I was born! I can’t believe I waited until I was 27 to watch it! Bob Redford and Michelle Pfeiffer are magic, I’ve always loved Celine Dion’s “Because you loved me” and the storyline hooks you in. Sure it’s Network (1976) meets A Star is Born, but that’s not a bad thing at all! An under rated movie for sure, don’t miss it if you haven’t seen it

4: The Great Waldo Pepper 1975: Shout-out to my good friend who brought this movie (back) to the center of my attention! 🙂 I had heard of this movie for the first time maybe 4 years ago, but have put it off on watching and collecting it, until this year. My friend is a major fan of the Video Archives podcast, and brought up this movie in conversation after it was featured, and basically insisted I had to watch it! Talk about a movie that gets lost in the shuffle, Robert Redford is so believable as Waldo Pepper, the second greatest flyer in the world. The movie covers an almost obscure time period in which aviators ruled the sky after WWI, but before WWII; and it’s fascinating to watch former WWI pilots try to hold onto their glory. Click here to listen to the Video Archives podcast for Waldo Pepper, but warning, it is NOT SPOILER FREE.

5: Brainstorm 1983: I had such reservation about this movie because it’s Natalie Wood’s final movie and because I don’t normally enjoy sci-fi films. But, there is such a humanity presented in this movie that makes you care about the characters. It also warns us about a future dictated/ controlled by technological devices, making it way ahead of its time. Natalie and Christopher Walken give such emotional performances, one watch is not enough to take it all in.

6: Revolutionary Road 2008: I remember the hype about this movie when it first came out and remember I wanted to see it. However, I am very glad I did not see it as a 12 year old because the movie really is made for adults. It’s a very adult world dealing with mature issues, and watching that as a child I would have been so bored by it. Add on the fact I know more about 1950’s life and the illusion it presented, all of that knowledge makes this movie easier and more fascinating to watch. Kate and Leo were great in this anti romance movie. All I can say is now they need to do a third movie where, spoiler alert, NO ONE DIES!

7: Endless Night 1972: Shout out to Real Weegie Midget for saying this movie is just amazing. This is the type of movie that needs more than one viewing because of the psychology of the plot. Hayley Mills in an adult role was marvelous to watch, as this movie proves she was not just a child actor.

8: The Mirror Crack’d 1980: I think this movie is my definition of 80’s fun. All star cast, meta movie within a movie, Dynasty level cattiness: English style: it’s all so much fun. It’s always cool for meta stuff, but this meta drew me in because it’s Tudors vs Stuarts. Certianly the type of movie that is re-watchable!

9: Top Gun: Maverick 2022: I am not a major fan of Tom Cruise, but I do enjoy Top Gun (1986), and the sequel is just as satisfying!! All other movie producers and writers wanting to make sequels with 30+ year gaps should take note of this movie, because this is how you do it. It felt like a natural progression for the characters, and the new ones were seamless. The plot also was well thought out and small details were paid attention to. Possibly the best sequel in 15 years and I don’t see it being surpassed by other sequels any time soon.

10: Spinning Gold 2023: This movie is a love letter to Casablanca Records head Neil Bogart. He helped create some of the best music ever made, and I am glad his story got to be told and presented to the general public. Yes, Kiss is featured in the narrative, but the movie is so much bigger than Kiss, it’s the story of a man’s vision and determination. I did not get to see this movie in theaters, as it was pulled quickly from a majority of them, but it doesn’t matter. If you care about music and the history of 20th century music, do not skip out on the movie!!!

I hope you all had a marvelous year, “at the movies“, and that 2024 continues to bring new to you movies into your lives! Have a happy holiday season and a happy, healthy and safe 2024!!!

3 thoughts on “Top 10 New to Me: 2023

Leave a comment