Reel Infatuation Blogathon- Paul Verrall in Born Yesterday 1950

16 thoughts on “Reel Infatuation Blogathon- Paul Verrall in Born Yesterday 1950

  1. Oh yes, any resemblance to William Holden is mighty fine, indeed.

    Paul Verrall is truly interesting, the type of fellow a person could have a lifetime of interesting discussions with. Whenever I see this film (and you’ve made me want to see it again ASAP), I really enjoy the scenes with Judy Holliday and Broderick Crawford, but what an exhausting relationship that would be!

    Thanks for joining the blogathon, and for bringing the handsome man in glasses. 😉

    Like

  2. Pingback: Reel Infatuation Blogathon 2017-Day 3 | Font and Frock

  3. I love this film. I think you described Paul very well. This is my favorite movie with William Holden. We have several things in common, I think. I love the 1930s and the Golden Era as well as England and the Victorian Era. Here is the link to my column: https://pureentertainmentpreservationsociety.wordpress.com. I would like to invite you to co-host a blogathon with me in October, the Great Breening Fest. I describe it here in this article: https://wordpress.com/post/pureentertainmentpreservationsociety.wordpress.com/2774. I hope you won’t mind being second choice, since Silver Screenings was too busy. I hadn’t seen your website yet when I wrote this article. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

    Yours Hopefully,

    Tiffany Brannan

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Flapper Dame

      Hi there thanks so much for your awesome review- Of Course I’d like to co host!! And I don’t mind a bit being second choice- plenty of actors ended up being second choice in oscar winning roles- after all right?? 😉
      look forward to it- Emily

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Dear Emily,

        Thank you for following my column; I truly appreciate it. I am honored that you will co-host my blogathon with me. I know it will be grand. I have never hosted a blogathon before, so I am not exactly sure about how to make banners. I have plenty of ideas; I simply don’t know how to make them real. Ruth of Silver Screenings offered to make them for me even though she is too busy to co-host it, but that won’t be necessary if you know how. I don’t know how far in advance you would like to start planning, but since it will be in mid-October, I think we should begin making preparations in July. Do you think we need to exchange email addresses, or will we be able to communicate properly via WordPress? I look forward to hearing from you soon, Emily. By the way, what is your last name, and where do you live? I am from Southern California.

        Yours Hopefully,

        Tiffany Brannan

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Of course it HAD to be William Holden for Emily! 😉 He certainly is a man to marry in this film. And all the reasons you gave us are just great! Doesn’t he looks so cute with his glasses?! Born Yesterday isn’t my favourite William Holden’s film, but I agree with you, it’s truly easy to fall in love with his character. Excellent post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

