Charlie St Cloud (2010): Waking up from the teenage dream

Starring Zac Efron in the title role, Charlie St. Cloud is a 2010 supernatural dramatic romance about a young man’s second chance at life. Charlie dreams of being a professional sailor and has an adoring mother (Kim Basinger), but his goals come crashing down when he and his little brother Sam (Charlie Tahon) get into a car accident. While Sam dies, Charlie lives after being brought back from the dead by paramedic Florio (Ray Liotta), who believes there are no lost causes and second chances happen for a reason.

As a result of being revived, Charlie is given the gift of being able to talk to ghostly spirits who are not alive or dead, rather they are caught, “in between“. Keeping good on a promise, Sam and Charlie meet in the forest at sunset to play baseball. It all goes well until Charlie reconnects with a former high school classmate, fellow sailor Tess (Amanda Crew). Suddenly, Charlie feels torn between keeping his promise to his brother or pursuing a new relationship with Tess. 

At the time, the movie was seen as Zac’s transition from teen idol to adult actor. It’s even evidenced in the plot when his character starts off in senior year of high school, but then the narrative jumps to his life in his early 20’s. The film also saw Zac and director Burr Steers reunite from 17 Again (2009).

Charlie St. Cloud is a movie I have had a major love- hate relationship with since I was 13 or 14. However today at 27, as an adult, I can say, I just hate it. Watching the movie with adult eyes and an adult brain have made me see all the flaws that people like my mom saw when it initially came out. 

Rewinding back to the summer of 2010, as a teen, I remember thinking this was going to be an emotionally compelling drama, even if I wasn’t completely sold on the actress playing Zac’s love interest. I love Zac Efron, not out-loud, but quietly, yes! I adore him. High School Musical, all 3, were in my opinion, amazing movies, and I was a super-fan of 17 Again. (Hairspray (2007), not so much; I just never got into it, even though I did try to).

Zac and his baby blues… charming, but not in this movie

I was really looking forward to seeing Zac in a legit serious role, one that could elevate him to be a dramatic leading man, and went to see it with my friend Anna, as she too was a Zac fan. While we both enjoyed it, we also both were confused by it. 

The scene in which the truth about Tess is revealed to the audience, was horribly written. I recall the both of us totally bewildered, as we glanced over at each other and not knowing what just happened. It didn’t make any sense to us two teen girls, and it still does not make sense to me as an adult.

My major source of dislike with this movie have always rested in Amanda Crew and Zac Efron’s lack of chemistry. The boathouse kiss scene was not even sweet, and their chase/ make-out scene that follows in the graveyard was pure cringe. No chemistry means no one is actually rooting for them to be together. This romance is pivotal to the plot, as Charlie must choose between Tess and Sam, and with no chemistry, you start to question why Charlie would give up Sam for Tess.

Early 2010s romance at its worst.

This is most evident in this scene here, in which it’s horrendous acting by everyone involved. Tess’s hand holding, Charlie’s tone of voice in explanation, Sam not convincing the audience he feels hurt. I thought it was a bit goofy when I was a teen, but now, it’s pretty insufferable. 

The one element that has altered 180° for me is Zac Efron’s performance. At 14, it’s what saved the movie for me, and it’s why I had it on DVD. I thought, “Zac is in the movie, and he does get some heartfelt scenes, the movie is still good!” But everyone, when viewing the movie for the first time in over a decade, Zac does not have the ability to make you cry or care about Charlie and his dilemma. Rather, he gives these blank, spacey stares as he looks confused on how to play the scene.

Referring back to my thoughts about Zac’s potential to be a dramatic actor, this is why it never happened: he doesn’t possess the ability to convey deep emotion, and is probably why his career has taken the comedy route. (This, in turn, is the reason why I lost interest in his movies, as all of them just look really stupid. Mike and Dave Need Wedding Dates (2016)?? Neighbors (2014)? Baywatch (2016)? NOPE, NOPE, AND NOPE! NO THANK YOU!) 

Saying something positive about the film, I really do admire the spiritual aspect of it. The idea of deceased loved ones watching over you is comforting to believe in. It is something I, myself, believe in. I recall loads of reviews around the time the film was released and that element being a major critique, but for me personally, it’s not why I dislike the movie. The script, the acting, and the emotional connectivity all need help. There are also some beautiful, scenic shots of Charlie and Tess sailing on the water, with the setting perfectly picturesque. Finally, YES, I do admit, Zac was so good looking in this movie. He was fit, but not overly muscle-y, with his piercing blue blues shining against the lush background. He was and still is adorable to look at on screen in this film. (If only he didn’t become a super muscle man!)

Overall, I’m glad to have revisited the movie, as it was a real assessment of something I was probably too young to even really give an opinion of initially. I would not watch it again, but I’m just grateful to have finally seen the truth of why the movie is flawed. It’s now a closed chapter in my, “life at the movies“, and I have a legit answer as to why I feel the way I feel.

THIS post was written for Sixth Annual So Bad, It’s Good Blogathon hosted by Taking Up Room.

18 thoughts on “Charlie St Cloud (2010): Waking up from the teenage dream

  1. Pingback: So Bad It’s Good 2024: Day Two – Taking Up Room

  2. I feel like the transition you had with Zac Efron is somewhat similar to what I went through with Elizabeth Shue. Just think about the difference between Adventures in Babysitting and Leaving Las Vegas and I think you can see what I mean.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. John L. Harmon

    it’s always interesting, but not always good to look back on a film from your childhood or teen years! I’ve never seen this movie and it sounds like I didn’t miss much. I think I’ve only seen Zac Efron in hairspray, which is not as good as John Waters original film and then in a Netflix series where he played a famous serial killer, which almost impressed me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m kind of learning that idea. I recently re-watched High school musical 2 as an adult, and WOAH It was rough. Ashley tisdale over the top acting, in a bad way. I think the music is what remains for me, not really the acting. This movie, I’m gonna let it stay in the past!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. My youngest daughter is a huge Zac Efron fan (she still refers to him as her future husband) — I can’t wait to share this review with her. This sounds pretty awful, but I really want to know the truth about Tess, and I’m always down to see some bad acting! LOL. Really enjoyed your review!

    — Karen

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Michael

    I really admire your take on the so-bad-it’s-good criteria. It’s not easy to objectively look back at a book or film that you loved in your youth. And it’s even harder to admit you were wrong out loud. An interesting and personal article.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s funny how our perceptions change as we get older, isn’t it? What a shame this movie didn’t wear well, and I agree with you about muscular Zac–the bulk seems to wear him. Thanks for joining the blogathon, Emily. This was great!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment