Why I love The 39 Steps (1935)

Image result for 39 steps
For starters, I love the characters. Mr. Memory (Wylie Watson), an amazing fact file that puts Google to shame! Mr. Richard Hannay played by the ever so suave (but not as suave as Nathan Page 🙂 ) Robert Donat. Hannay has a perfect mustache and I love it how he just has to go with the flow- every twist and turn- no matter what happens to him he stays as cool as a cucumber. Of course, he has his frantic moments- the train scene– but who can blame him- (NOT ME!). And naturally I must mention the lovely Madeleine Carroll, the first Hitchcock blonde.  I love the feisty personality, and her ability to match Hannay word for word- their banter is just perfect.
Hannay: Now let’s make ourselves as comfortable as possible. What about that skirt of yours? It’s still pretty damp, you know. I don’t want to be tied to a pneumonia case on top of everything else. Take it off. I don’t mind.
Pamela: I’ll leave it on, thank you…My shoes and stockings are soaked so I think I’ll take them off.
Hannay: That’s the first sensible thing I’ve heard you say.

As much as I do adore North By Northwest, I do feel this film is somewhat superior. It just has something about it that makes it intriguing. Maybe it just has so many “moments” that make me say both “Awww” and “Ahhh!” at the same time or maybe it’s the fact it’s a British… Hitchcock… Film. Or maybe it’s this scene…

(dvdtalk.com)

Maybe this one????

train 39 steps
The Famous Train Scene!   (The 1000 Frames of The 39 Steps Hitchcock Project )
OR perhaps I love this film so much because it’s this film introduces the world to the most famous Hitchcockian element, “The MacGuffin”. WHAT IS The 39 Steps? Who are they? What do they need? And what makes them so dangerous???? Well.. I’ll tell you, you see they are….

6 thoughts on “Why I love The 39 Steps (1935)

  1. I feel I haven’t seen enough of early Hitchcock. I once had a 20 movie “cheapo” collection set of early movies, but I sold it for beer money before I ever got to watch most of them (thank God I don’t drink anymore.)

    Like

  2. Awesome post! We can really feel your love for this film!
    Hitchcock for the win! He is my favourite movie director too and I also reviewed one of his early British films, Young and Innocent, for the blogathon! After The Lady Vanishes and Young & Innocent, The 39 Steps is my third favourite Hitchcock British film :). And I love Robert Donat!
    I hope you’ll write about more Hitchcock’s films, because I’m really a fan! Actually, my objective on my blog would be to review every Hitchcock’s films. So far, I’ve done the job for 8 of his films (+ The Man Who Knew Too Much (1956) on another website, which is btw, my favourite one). Ok, shut up me (I could talk about Hitchcock for hours lol)

    Like

    1. The Flapper Dame

      No shame Ginnie- No Shame! Hitch isnt called The Master for nothing- I’m asking for some blu rays of his films for my bday! Much like his Maguffin, I cant fully explain my admiration for him!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I really like this film as well. Madeleine is great in the movie, and it was the first time I saw her acting! Donat is also a favorite, and I believe both are underrated actors. Someitmes I wonder what I’d do if I were handcuffed to a stranger…
    Don’t forget to read my contribution to the blogathon! 🙂
    Kisses!
    Le

    Like

  4. Did you know that John Buchan, author of 5 novels featuring the character of Richard Hannay, was once the Governor General of Canada? I love Canadian trivia as much as I love “The 39 Steps” and that is a lot! I don’t know if I would go so far as to say I love “The 39 Steps” as much as you do, because it is obvious from your wonderful post that your affection runs deep.

    Like

  5. mercurie80

    I adore The 39 Steps. It is definitely one of the best films Hitchcock ever made. And it really set the pace for many of his other films. Aside from introducing the MacGuggin, I always thought that Madeleine Carroll was the first true Hitchcock Blonde. What is more, I think she always remained among the best of the Hitchcock Blondes. Anyway, The 39 Steps pretty much fires on all cylinders. Great cast, great dialogue, plenty of action. I don’t see how anyone could not love this film!

    Anyway, thank you for this fine blog post and for participating in the blogathon!

    Like

Leave a comment